2015 ACE Awards Reognize Finalists for Electronics Innovation

UBM has announced the finalists for the EDN and EE Times Annual Creativity in Electronics (ACE) Awards that honor technology innovators who demonstrate global electronics industry leadership. Winners will be announced at a ceremony on July 21, 2015, at the Santa Clara Convention Center during the Embedded System Conference Silicon Valley.

The finalists by category are:

Company of the Year
Integrated Device Technology
Mouser Electronics
NXP Semiconductors

Design Team of the Year
Imagination Technologies
Introspect Technology

Executive of the Year
Matthew Murphy, Maxim Integrated
Dr. Sehat Sutardja, Marvell
Gregory Waters, Integrated Device Technology

Energy Technology Award
Alta Devices
Cypress Semiconductor Corp.
Evtron Inc.

Innovator of the Year
Dr. Chris Diorio, Impinj
David Moloney, Movidius
Dr. Sehat Sutardja, Marvell

Internet of Things Product of the Year
Big Ass Solutions
Blanc & Otus

Marketing Team of the Year
Atmel Corporation
Freescale Semiconductor Inc.
Peregrine Semiconductor

Start Up Company of the Year
Novati Technologies
Silicon Catalyst

STEM Impact Award
Broadcom Corporation
Integrated Device Technology
Microchip Technology Inc.

Ultimate Products

Analog ICs
LTC2983, Linear Technology
PIXI, Maxim Integrated
Si534x Clock Family, Silicon Labs

Development Kits
CY8CKIT-042-BLE Bluetooth Low Energy PIONEER KIT, Cypress Semiconductor Corp.
SDAccel development environment for OpenCL, C, and C++, Xilinx Inc.
Sensor Processing / Motion development kit, NXP Semiconductors

LEDs and Lighting
LSP05/LSP10 Series Surge Protection Device Modules, Littelfuse, Inc.
TPS92661-Q1, Texas Instruments
88EM8187 LED Controller, Marvell

Dual Configurable Logic, NXP Semiconductors
HyperBus Interface, Cypress Semiconductor Corp.
VersaClock 5 Programmable Clock Family, Integrated Device Technology

Passives, Interconnects and Electromechanical
AMT-31 Modular Commutation Encoder, CUI Inc.
Coolbit Optical Engines, TE
M3-LS Linear Smart Stage, New Scale Technologies

ChiP Bus Converter Module (BCM) Family, Vicor Corporation
LTC3350, Linear Technology
PKM4613NH – Quarter-brick fully regulated DC/DC module, Ericsson Power Modules

Processors (FPGAs, MCUs, Microprocessors)
Arria 10 FPGAs and SoCs, Altera Corporation
Myriad 2, Movidius
Xilinx Zynq UltraScale+ MPSoC, Xilinx Inc.

Reference Designs
Cyclone V SoC, Altera Corporation
MAXREFDES70# Flow Meter Reference Design, Maxim Integrated
Street Lighting Reference Design, STMicroelectronics

Lensless Smart Sensor, Rambus
LSM6DS3, STMicroelectronics
Si1132/4x UV Sensor Family, Silicon Labs

LabVIEW Communications System Design Suite, National Instruments
Quantus QRC Extraction Solution, Cadence Design Systems, Inc.
WEBENCH PCB Export, Texas Instruments

Test and Measurement Systems and Boards
MicReD Industrial Power Tester 1500A¸ Mentor Graphics
LabMaster 10-100Zi, Teledyne LeCroy
RSA306, Tektronix

PE42722 RF Switch, Peregrine Semiconductor
PSoC 4 BLE, Cypress Semiconductor Corp.
SimpleLink Wi-Fi CC3200, Texas Instruments

“This year's ACE Awards nominations shined a spotlight on the best of the best in the electronics industry,” said Suzanne Deffree, Executive Editor, EDN & UBM Canon. “We look forward to celebrating the exceptional advances and innovations engineers bring to life every day at the ACE Awards.”

The 2015 ACE Awards are judged by the following prestigious panel of academic and business leaders, as well as EDN and EE Times editors:

  • Gordon Bell, Senior Researcher, Microsoft Research
  • Jeff Bier, President and Co-Founder, Berkeley Design Technology, Inc. (BDTI)
  • Larry Boucher, President and CEO, Alacritech
  • William Dally, Chairman, Computer Science Dept., Stanford University
  • Erach Desai, Consultant, DESAIsive Research
  • John East, President and CEO, Actel Corporation
  • Gene A. Frantz, Principal Fellow, Texas Instruments, Inc.
  • Lucio Lanza, Managing Director, Lanzatech Ventures
  • John Mashey, Board of Directors, Computer History Museum
  • Martin Reynolds, Vice President, Gartner
  • George M. Scalise, former President, Semiconductor Industry Association
  • Naveed Sherwani, President and CEO, Open Silicon
  • William P. Tai, General Partner, Charles River Ventures
  • Nick Tredennick, Editor, Gilder Technology Report

ACE Lifetime Achievement joint winners, Contributor of the Year winner
UBM is also pleased to announce this year's ACE Awards Lifetime Achievement joint winners: Bob Swanson, Co-Founder & Executive Chairman, Linear Technology Corporation, and Bob Dobkin, Co-Founder & Chief Technical Officer, Linear Technology Corporation.

Bob Dobkin, co-founder & CTO, Linear Technology Corporation (above, left) and Bob Swanson, co-founder & executive chairman, Linear Technology Corporation (right) are ACE Awards Lifetime Achievement joint winners for 2015.

Bob Dobkin, co-founder & CTO, Linear Technology Corporation (above, left) and Bob Swanson, co-founder & executive chairman, Linear Technology Corporation (right) are ACE Awards Lifetime Achievement joint winners for 2015.

“Bob Swanson and Bob Dobkin are unique as individuals in their decades-deep contributions to integrated electronics, as well as their longevity in Silicon Valley beginning with Germanium transistors,” said Steve Taranovich, power design expert and UBM editor. “They are also exceptional as a team because of their unprecedented continuity of management at a semiconductor company, as well as their refreshing style of management amplifying Linear Technology's engineering talent. For these reasons and many more, EE Times and EDN chose to honor Bob Swanson and Bob Dobkin with the 2015 ACE Lifetime Achievement Award”

Steven M. Sandler,
managing director, Picotest.

Steven M. Sandler,
managing director, Picotest.

UBM is further pleased to announce that Steven M. Sandler, Managing Director at Picotest and frequent DesignCon presenter, will receive the 2015 Jim Williams Contributor of the Year ACE Award for his outstanding and continuing contributions to the engineering industry and knowledge sharing.

All winners and finalists will be celebrated at the 2015 ACE Awards ceremony on July 21, 2015, at the Santa Clara Convention Center starting at 6:30pm. Transportation will be available from the Embedded System Conference Silicon Valley to the ACE Awards starting at 5:30pm.

Tickets for the 2015 ACE Awards can be purchased here.
The ACE Awards are made possible in part by Mouser Electronics and Linear Technology.

Who won in previous years? Check out:

Join over 2,000 technical professionals and embedded systems hardware, software, and firmware developers at ESC Silicon Valley July 20-22, 2015 and learn about the latest techniques and tips for reducing time, cost, and complexity in the embedded development process.

Passes for the ESC Silicon Valley 2015 Technical Conference are available at the conference’s official site with discounted advance pricing until July 17, 2015. The Embedded Systems Conference and EE Times are owned by UBM Canon.

0 comments on “2015 ACE Awards Reognize Finalists for Electronics Innovation

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.