News Wire

Avnet Announces Winners of 10th Annual Avnet Tech Games

PHOENIX—Avnet, Inc. (NYSE: AVT), a leading global technology distributor, announced today the 2015 winners of the Avnet Tech Games. Of the more than 200 students from universities and community colleges who competed in the games on Saturday, April 11 and in the virtual competitions, 31 students collected $1,000 scholarships. Additionally, nine faculty advisors received $2,700 in honorariums for leading the winning teams to victory.

“The 10th year of the Avnet Tech Games has most certainly been our best,” said MaryAnn Miller, senior vice president, Chief Human Resources Officer and Corporate Communications, Avnet, Inc. “It's through competitions like this that a spotlight shines on the science, technology, engineering and mathematic expertise of Arizona's students. As a long-time proponent of STEM education, Avnet believes that there is intrinsic value in helping to facilitate development and networking opportunities like this between today's technology leaders and our future workforce to help them achieve their long-term career goals.”

A panel of judges including technology executives, engineers and other business leaders selected the winners based on the students' ability to meet the technical requirements of a task, apply innovative approaches to the solution and demonstrate professional skills. Seventy teams of students competed in the onsite games on Saturday at The University of Advancing Technology in Tempe, Ariz. The competitors represented 14 Arizona community colleges and universities: Arizona State University, Chandler/Gilbert Community College, Estrella Community College, Glendale Community College, ITT Technical Institute, Maricopa Skill Center, Mesa Community College, Northern Arizona University, Paradise Valley Community College, Phoenix Community College, Scottsdale Community College, The University of Advancing Technology and the University of Arizona.

“Congratulations to everyone who participated in this year's Avnet Tech Games, especially our winners,” added Miller. “On behalf of Avnet, thank you to all of our sponsors, business partners and volunteers for helping make this year's event a success.

The winners of the 2015 Onsite Avnet Tech Games are:

Cisco Network Expert Security Battle
 Mesa Community College
 Faculty Coach: Robert Samson
 Student Team Members: Jason Gates, Dana Gallagher, Nathan Pan

HP Fastest Computer Build
 Arizona State University 
Faculty Coach: Eli Chmouni
 Student Team Members: Troy Gerloff, Habib Matar, Jeremy Morgan

Desktop Domination
 The University of Advancing Technology 
Faculty Coach: Al Kelly
 Student Team Members: Andrew Denis, Eric Evans, Jason Olivas

Digital Design Dilemma
 Chandler-Gilbert Community College 
Faculty Coach: Bassam Matar
 Student Team Members: Chandler Redding, Sean Walker, Kevin Grout

Green Data Center Challenge 
Scottsdale Community College
 Faculty Coach: Ron Monroig
 Student Team Members: Cristobal Romero, Alba Lopez, Matthew O'Donnell

Java Blitz 
Arizona State University 
Student Team Members: Morgan Nesbit, Zachary Moore

Robot Race Obstacle Course 
Mesa Community Colleg e
Faculty Coach: Bruce Carlton
 Student Team Members: Lloyd Allen, Matthew Otte

Solar Scrimmage 
Mesa Community College
 Faculty Coach: Bruce Carlton 
Student Team Members: Brandon Traylor, Daniel Bailey, Nguyen Dao

Since its inception in 2006, more than $330,000 in scholarship money and honorariums have been awarded to hundreds of the approximately 3,000 students and 250 faculty members who have participated in the competition.

2015 Virtual Avnet Tech Games 
 The Virtual Avnet Tech Games were introduced in 2010 to expand the breadth of the onsite event by allowing students to compete on a national level. More than 100 teams competed in the Virtual Avnet Tech Games competition. This year's winners are:

Android App Showdown 
Arizona State University
Faculty Coach: Eli Chmouni
Student Team Members: Joslene Chmouni, Matthew Vehon

Green Video Competition 
 University of Advancing Technology
Faculty Coach: Justin Gagen
Student Team Members: Darien Marion, Ryan Moore, Dominique Laster

JDA Supply Chain Challenge 
 School Name: University of California, San Diego, Harvard and MIT
Student Team Members: Amilcare Gentili, MD, FACHE, Marco Gentili, Paolo Gentili, Ryan Scheidt

Avnet Tech Games 2015 sponsors included Cisco, DP Air, HP, JDA Software, NetApp, Freescale, CDW, TE Connectivity and World Wide Technology.

0 comments on “Avnet Announces Winners of 10th Annual Avnet Tech Games

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.